Off Topic: Ray Lamontagne

I had the pleasure to see American Folk singer Ray Lamontagne in the Olympia Theatre last night – but not after it took me 2 and a half hours to get from Blanchardstown to the City Centre, due to the insanity that is our current weather. Alas, I was not too late.


Got there mid-way through the set of the support act, Priscilla Ahn, who floored me. She was beautiful, with a sweet voice reminiscent of Norah Jones. Caught about 5 or 6 of her songs, as she played her guitar, harmonica and wait for it…. the kazoo! Brilliant stuff

Ray Lamontagne played with his band initially, then sang some numbers by himself. I wish I had been more knowledgeable about his work before I seen him but this has made me seek out his 3 albums. He has been compared to Bob Dylan and Joe Cocker, but he definitely is a unique performer. His voice gives you goosebumps in nearly every song he sings. He said very little during his set but his presence spoke volumes. He does seem like a regular dude though, very likeable and cool. 

I recommend people check him out – and same for the support act. Here’s a cupla links.

Leave a Reply

